0 Items in your basket
Sign Up
Family Atlantica - Family Atlantica Header
  • Family Atlantica Image


  • Family Atlantica Packshot

Family Atlantica - Family Atlantica

Out Now

Buy NowCD / 2XLP / Digital

Recorded over 4 years in London and Venezuela, Cuban rumba, Venezuelan tambor and tonada, Ghanaian highlife, Ethiopian blues and calypso have been soaked and infused with psychedelia and spiritual jazz to come up with what Gilles Peterson described as “a really great record”. The DJ and tastemaker included the band in his recent ‘Hot For 2013 Show’ on BBC 6music, premiering the track Cumbacutiri.

A diverse host of heavyweight musicians from both sides of the Atlantic are led by London born Jack Yglesias, producer, multi-instrumentalist and a veteran of The Heliocentrics, and his wife Luzmira Zerpa, traditional Venezuelan musician, poet and singer with a magical voice acclaimed by Manu Chao.

Recorded while living in an abandoned vicarage in East London, the record contains three different generations of Luzmira’s family as well as a cast of musicians from the wider Family Atlantic family.

One of the guests on the album, legendary Ethiopian-jazz maestro Mulatu Astatke, adds a classic touch on piano to ‘Escape To The Palenque’, soloing in his unmistakable flowing Ethiopian 6/8 style. Also featured on the record are Senegalese Nuru Kane and Afro-Cuban group Yoruba Andabo. Much of the record was recorded by the Heliocentrics’ Malcolm Catto at their East London studio.

In 2008, Luzmira traveled to the Sahara Desert in the south of Algeria to participate in the Fi-sahara Festival. While there she performed with Manu Chao who introduced her to the audience as the most beautiful voice to arrive to the desert.

“A really great record.” Gilles Peterson

A sophisticated jazz sensibility.” The Telegraph

“I bet they’re great live.” Independent on Sunday

“20 tracks flashing past like blasts from a dozen different radio stations.” Financial Times

“Tidal wave after tidal wave of Afro-Latin grooves.” Songlines TOP OF THE WORLD  

CD Tracklist

01 Fly Through The Lightning To Speak With The Sun
02 Incantation To The Ancestors
03 Arena
04 Cumbacutiri
05 Libation At The Gate Of No Return
06 Jaia
07 Manicero
08 Pranto Do Banzo
09 Escape To The Palenque
10 El Apamate
11 El Negreo
12 Gaita Psycadelica
13 Myths and Proverbs
14 Clavelito Colorado
15 Eboka Ritual
16 Tamunangue Blues
17 The Griot's Blessing
18 Pescador Saharawi
19 La Familia
20 Speak To the Spirit of The Sea

Made By Mod
Managed by KARTEL